The Hellenistic Empire 336 – 146 BC

The Hellenistic Empire

Alexander the Great (356-323 BC), King of Macedonia, overthrew the Achaemenid Empire and created a new empire consisting of mainland Greece, Asia Minor, the Levant, ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, Persia, and much of Central and South Asia (i.e. modern Pakistan). The empire he forged was the largest in antiquity until the Roman Empire, but unlike the Romans, Alexander established his vast empire in a mere decade. After his death, his Empire was succeeded by three Empires ruled by the Diadochi—the Seleucid, Ptolemaic, and Macedonian, which, despite being independent, are called the “Hellenistic Empire” by virtue of their similarities in culture and administration.

The Hellenistic Empire Horoscope

Related Articles